The Second Annual Hong Kong Writers Prize

The hk prize is an illustrious writing contest that attracts authors from across the globe. Its impartial judging process means participants can be confident their work will be considered fairly, although it is recommended that you read all rules and regulations thoroughly before participating.

Moreover, the winners of the hk prize are awarded monetary awards and shopping vouchers. They also have the opportunity to join a network of other writers and share their work. In addition, a number of hk prize winners have gone on to become famous in their field of expertise. For example, the Hong Kong Science Prize has been awarded to a wide range of scientists including chemist Gregory Winter and Nobel laureate Michael Levitt.

This year, the hk prize has been awarded to six individuals. Five of them are activists fighting to prevent the erosion of Hong Kong’s long-cherished autonomy, while the sixth is Zeng Jinshu, who is serving a prison sentence for organizing vigils to mark the 30th anniversary of the Tiananmen Square protests in 1989. The prize jury said their efforts “hold up a mirror to the ugly face of authoritarianism”.

Other notable winners include Broad Daylight, a film about a reporter exposing cases of abuse at a care home, and a drama about a Hong Kong family’s fight against tyranny, which won the best actress award for Jennifer Yu. The Goldfinger, an action-thriller about a heist at one of Hong Kong’s biggest financial scandals, won best cinematography, art direction, costume and makeup design and visual effects. The Hong Kong New Media Development Fund also presented a lifetime achievement award to martial arts legend Sammo Hung.

This is the second year that the prize has been awarded, and the organisers hope it will serve as a reminder of how important it is to respect diversity in our society. The finalists’ artworks will be displayed at the Goethe-Gallery and Black Box Studio, and some will be sold at a charitable auction to support Justice Centre Hong Kong’s refugee protection work.

This year’s competition is open to all enrolled secondary school students in Hong Kong. Each student must be nominated by their teacher and must submit their artwork online before the submission deadline. The winning student will receive HK$8,000 and their school will be awarded HK$20,000.